Ask anyone who has ever been in a band and they’ll tell you: Being in a band is hard. Making it work for 20 years? That is really, really hard.

This has certainly been the case for Louisville, KY-based metal band FLAW. The band has seen multiple line-up changes over the years. However, the core of Chris Volz’s vocals has remained as the creative driving force.

FLAW’s story began with the independent release of home-grown albums American Arrogance (1996), Flaw (1998), and Drama (2000). It was the songs on these recordings that garnered the attention of Universal Republic Records, who signed the band and released the break-through Through The Eyes in 2001. The offering topped the Billboard Heatseekers chart, largely fueled by the singles “Payback” and “Whole.”

The band then followed-up with an album entitled Endangered Species via Republic in 2004, but soon thereafter the band went through personnel changes and ended their relationship with the label. The band’s tumultuous relationship with themselves, and their label, were reflected in their songs. It was the life and energy captured in these songs that propelled the band forward. It was always FLAW’s fans’ connection to their songs that carried the band on. “We would not be where we are today without our hardcore fans,” says Volz. “The Flaw Family is the backbone of everything we do.”

In 2016, the band inked a deal with Pavement Entertainment. Later that year, they released Divided We Fall, an album that captures the strength of their renewed focus and energy, which is expressed in the lead single “Divided We Fall.” Another noteworthy single is “Live and Breathe,” a song that is a vessel of raw human experience and emotion. The band continued going strong with touring and recording music, releasing the United We Stand EP in 2017. This six-song onslaught features four brand new tracks and two live tracks (“Only The Strong” and “Payback”) from FLAW’s debut album.

Now, FLAW is ready to record their next album, and their fans are poised and ready to answer the call.


Chris Volz – Vocals

Jason Daunt – Guitar

Ryan Jurhs – Bass

Corey Sturgill – Drums

Back to top